Notify team members or groups

There are times when you want to post a comment and notify everyone in the thread, but there are other times when you write a comment only directed at a few people. In those cases, you can choose to notify only the specific team members or groups you choose. Read on to find out how this works as well as see an example.

How to notify specific team members or groups

Whenever you create a thread or comment, you can simply select the individual or group's name from the list to notify them. When you notify them, your new comment will show up in their Inbox as unread.

desktop-overview.png
android-overview.png
ios-overview.png

To notify individual team members, just type out and choose their names from the drop-down list, and they're added to the notify list. When you send the message, their Inbox is pinged.

desktop-users.png
android-members.png
ios-members.png

To notify groups, simply choose the group from the drop down list under notify. Then post your comment as usual to notify them.

desktop-groups.png
android-groups.png
ios-groups.png
When you reply to a thread and notify only specific members, anybody in the thread or channel can see your post, but only the notified members will receive an unread update in their inbox.

You can read more specifics about how to notify members in the articles about creating threads and writing comments

To keep communication effective on Twist, it’s best to only notify people who are relevant to a given discussion. Avoid the instinct to over-notify, as that will clutter up people’s Inboxes with updates that are not always relevant to them.

An example of how notifying works

For example, let’s say you want to check in with a designer about the new icon she’s using. You can post a comment in your "Design discussion" thread, and choose to notify only her. Your comment will be posted to the thread and it will be sent to her Inbox.

Other members in the thread will not be notified by your comment, but they will be able to see it when they revisit the thread later. By only notifying the designer, you avoided overloading their Inboxes with notifications that are not pertinent to them personally.

You can also notify a group. When you post a comment and notify a group, only the people in the group will be notified as opposed to everyone in the thread. In the example above, you could also notify the "Brand Designers" group and the comment would be sent to each of their Inboxes.

Notifying individuals and groups is in contrast to notifying everyone in the channel or everyone in the thread, which is useful for larger points within a discussion.